Nurse practitioners and nurse practitioner advocates, recipients of the prestigious American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) 2018 State Award for Excellence, will be honored at an awards ceremony and reception held during the AANP 2018 National Conference June 26-July 1, 2018, in Denver, CO. Janie Owens of Lexington, Kentucky will be among the recipients honored. The State Award for Nurse Practitioner Excellence, founded in 1991, recognizes a nurse practitioner (NP) in a state who demonstrates excellence in practice. In 1993, the State Award for Nurse Practitioner Advocate was added to recognize the efforts of individuals who have made a significant contribution toward increasing awareness and recognition of NPs. Jane Owens will be honored as Kentucky Nurse Practitioner Advocate of the Year for 2018. Jane is employed with Estill Medical Clinic, and practice owner of Bluegrass Mobile Medical Clinic and NP Xpress Care of Lexington. She has been a nurse practitioner for 14 years, and a registered nurse since 1984. Her passion is the care of the medically underserved, including the chronically ill. She was founder of Nurse Practitioner Community of Faith, Inc. a 501(c)(3) nonprofit. The American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) is the largest professional membership organization for nurse practitioners (NPs) of all specialties. It represents the interests of more than 234,000 NPs practicing in the U. S. today, providing a unified networking platform and advocating for their role as providers of high-quality, cost-effective, comprehensive, patient-centered and personalized health care. The organization provides legislative leadership at the local, state and national levels, advancing health policy; promoting excellence in practice, education and research; and establishing standards that best serve NP patients and other health care consumers.